LYSARC,
Academic partner
of Lymphoma
Clinical Research

LYSA

LYSA, The Lymphoma Study Association, is the ‘parent’ structure of LYSARC.

logo LYSA
Established in February 2012, LYSA is the result of the merger of GELA (The Lymphoma Adult Study Group) and of the Lymphoma Committee of GOELAMS (The West-East Group for the Study of Leukemia and other Blood Diseases).
GELA was established as an association in 1984, gathering French, Belgian, Luxembourgian and Swiss clinicians, statisticians, pathologists and biologists to maximize the efforts of basic and clinical research in the adult lymphoma field. More than 23,000 patients have participated in GELA trials since then. The dynamism of the association is particularly linked to early studies highlighting the contribution of certain patterns of intensive chemotherapy and the evaluation of new medicines, such as interferon and rituximab.

GOELAMS was established in 1992 through the cooperation of the hematology centers in hospitals of West and East of France, together with several Paris-based hospitals. This clinical research group was targeting both leukemia and lymphoma.
The prominent role of these two groups was highlighted by its ability to gather most French lymphoma specialists during clinical trials, by the results obtained in these trials and by their contribution to the histological and biological knowledge of lymphomas.

In February 2012, these two groups (GELA and GOELAMS) decided to merge their efforts and skills to become a significant player at the international level in the field of lymphoma research, in the interest of patients.

The establishment of LYSARC goes back to the creation by GELA of GELARC, the Adult Lymphoma Study Group – Clinical Research, in July 2000.

In June 2012, GELARC officially became the operational structure associated with the research activities of the new LYSA group and was renamed LYSARC, The Lymphoma Academic Research Organisation.
LYSA and LYSARC are two legally independent associations (under the French law of 1901).

Le LYSARC,
partenaire académique
de la recherche clinique
sur le lymphome

LYSA

Le LYSA, The Lymphoma Study Association, est la structure « mère » du LYSARC.

logo LYSA
Créé en février 2012, le LYSA est issu de la fusion du GELA (Groupe d’Etude des Lymphomes de l’Adulte) et du Comité Lymphome du GOELAMS (Groupe Ouest-Est d’études des Leucémies Aigües et autres Maladies du Sang).
Le GELA a été créé sous la forme d’une association en 1984, regroupant des cliniciens, des statisticiens, des anatomopathologistes et des biologistes français, belges, luxembourgeois et suisses afin d’optimiser les efforts de recherche fondamentale et clinique sur les lymphomes de l’adulte. Plus de 20.000 patients ont participé aux essais du GELA depuis cette date. Le dynamisme de l’association est notamment lié aux premières études ayant mis en évidence l’apport de certains schémas de chimiothérapie intensive et à l’évaluation de nouveaux médicaments, tels l’interféron et le rituximab.

Le GOELAMS a été créé en 1992 par le regroupement de centres d’hématologie de l’Ouest et de l’Est de la France, associés à certains centres parisiens. Ce groupe de recherche clinique s’est intéressé à la fois aux leucémies et aux lymphomes.
Le rôle de ces deux groupes a été marquant à la fois par la capacité à fédérer la plupart des spécialistes français du lymphome autour des essais cliniques qu’ils ont menés, par les résultats obtenus dans ces essais et par leur apport dans les connaissances histologiques et biologiques des lymphomes.

En février 2012, ces deux groupes (GELA et GOELAMS lymphome) ont décidé de fusionner leurs efforts et compétences afin de devenir un acteur de tout premier ordre sur le plan international dans le domaine de la recherche sur les lymphomes, au service des patients.

La création du LYSARC remonte à celle du GELARC, le Groupe d’Etude des Lymphomes de l’Adulte – Recherche Clinique, en juillet 2000 par le GELA.

En juin 2012, le GELARC devient officiellement la structure opérationnelle associée aux activités de recherche du nouveau groupe  LYSA et prend le nom de LYSARC, The Lymphoma Academic Research Organisation.
LYSA et LYSARC sont deux associations Loi de 1901, juridiquement indépendantes.